Home Schooling in Chile (Educacion en Casa)

By Janet Pinto, Chief Academic Officer, Curriki

Recently, we asked educators, students and parents to submit personal stories about how Curriki has made a difference in what they do.  We were excited to receive stories from all over the world, including Ethiopia, Kenya, India and Chile!

 

Paula Chamorro from Chile was a winner in the Parents category. Congratulations Paula! Here is her story.

Paula Chamorro

Chamorro family

Name: Paula Chamorro

Residence: Chile

Occupation: Parent and Home-Schooler

Institute: Home School

Her Story:

Hi,

My name is Paula, I am the mother of 4 children aged 5, 10, 13 and 14. This year we decided to start with education at home, which has been a challenging, but at the same time rewarding, experience.

Here in Chile there is not educational material for preparing lessons at home, so to find material for each child is difficult, if you do not have professional guidance. I have been able to obtain educational plans and started to download information from the Internet to help my children. And I found you.

The materials have been of great help for my classes with my children, because there is an order (for curriculum) and class material for them.

I thank you for your help and more friends of mine who also educate their children at home will visit your site.

HOLA: MI NOMBRE ES PAULA, SOY MADRE DE 4 HIJOS DE 5, 10,13 Y 14 AÑOS. ESTE AÑO DECIDIMOS COMENZAR CON EDUCACION EN CASA, HA SIDO UNA EXPERIENCIA DESAFIANTE PERO A LA VEZ GRATIFICANTE. AQUI EN CHILE NO ESTA EL MATERIAL EDUCATIVO PARA PREPARAR EN CASA, POR LO TANTO, UNO TIENE QUE VER COMO SACAR MATERIAL PARA CADA HIJO. ES COMPLICADO, SI UNO NO TIENE UNA ORIENTACION PROFESIONAL. YO ME CONSEGUI LOS PLANES EDUCATIVOS Y COMENCE A BAJAR DE INTERNET INFORMACION PARA AYUDAR A MIS HIJOS. Y LOS ENCONTRE A USTEDES. HAN SIDO DE GRAN AYUDA PARA MIS CLASES CON MIS HIJOS PORQUE HAY UN ORDEN Y EL MATERIAL PARA HACERLES CLASES. LES AGRADEZCO SU AYUDA Y MAS AMIGOS MIOS LES VISITARAN QUE TAMBIEN EDUCAN A SUS HIJOS EN CASA.

Thank you very much from Chile!! The truth is I am very grateful for this award you have given me, I did not think it was true. Thank you very much with all my heart, Curriki speak to my friends. I am grateful if you could develop more materials in Spanish.

We welcome more contributions of curricular materials in the Spanish language. Please share Curriki with your friends and colleagues and ask them to join Curriki.

2 responses to “Home Schooling in Chile (Educacion en Casa)

  1. Posted this to my LinkedIn, nice read.

  2. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who
    has been conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually bought me dinner simply because I found it for him.
    .. lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this issue here
    on your web site.

Leave a Reply

